Our Board

Mission Statement

Of, by and for women, the Kentucky Women Writers Conference is a nonprofit organization that creates compassionate artistic environments that affirm, challenge, and energize women writers and readers, through an annual conference and programming dedicated to women’s words.

Board members are patrons and volunteers who:

  • assist with the annual conference 
  • advocate for our programs throughout the state and region
  • liaison with community volunteers and partnering businesses 
  • contribute or raise funds for conference activities
  • attend board meetings (7 meetings per year)
Nominate a Board Member at this link. For more information about joining the board, please contact the conference director, Julie Wrinn at kentuckywomenwriters@gmail.com or contact the board directly at boardkywomenwriters@gmail.com.

Current Board Members

Sylvia Ahrens, TREASURER, poet and former English faculty at Lindsey Wilson College

Holly Barbaccia, associate professor, chair of English, and director of Women's Studies, Georgetown College

Sarah Chapman, Program Director at the Carnegie Center for Literacy and Learning, Carnegie Center for Literacy and Learning

Randi Ewing, PRESIDENT, fiction writer and Outreach Associate at the Carnegie Center for Literacy and Learning. Listen to Randi's interview on WEKU about the 2019 conference here.

Shelda Hale, CO-SECRETARY, poet and creative nonfiction/fiction writer and former director, Title III Federal Program, KDE

Camilla Holzer, clinical pastoral educator, University of Kentucky HealthCare

Erin Keane, poet, Editor in Chief at Salon.com, graduate faculty at Spalding University School of Creative and Professional Writing

Ashley McGraw, VICE PRESIDENT, youth services librarian, Lexington Public Library

Patrice Muhammad, Sonia Series Chair, journalist and co-founder, LexTown Media Group

Jessica Winters, attorney, fiction writer, and founder of PRBTN, the public murals and street art celebration in Lexington

Katy Yocom, CO-SECRETARY, fiction writer and associate director, Spalding University MFA in Writing


Sonia Sanchez Series Committee

Patrice Muhammad, CHAIR, journalist and co-founder, LexTown Media Group

Asha French

Wild Women of Poetry Slam
Sara Volpi, Slam Coordinator, Literary Outreach Coordinator, Western Kentucky University, and Coordinator, Southern Kentucky Book Fest