Betty Gabehart Prizes

As of July 12, 2019, we are delighted to announce this year's Gabehart Prize winners:

Poetry: Lupita Eyde-Tucker of Palm Bay, Florida, for “How to Ride a Train in the Andes” and other poems. Lupita will give a reading at the conference paired with DaMaris Hill.

Honorable Mention: Carrie Green of Lexington, Kentucky, for “Hurricane” and other poems

Fiction: Monica Hanna of Long Island, NY, for the short story, “In the Name of the Father.” Monica will give a reading at the conference paired with Chantel Acevedo.

Honorable mention: Esther Magdalena Reed for the short story, “The Lingering Fragrance of Lilacs”

Nonfiction: Pamela Parker of Mayfield, Kentucky for the essay, “Memento Mori, Memento Vivere.” Pamela will give a reading at the conference paired with Darcey Steinke.

Honorable Mention: Lia Greenwell of Grosse Point, Michigan, for the essay, “Your Soul Doesn’t Need You”

Each year three emerging writer awards are presented by Kentucky Women Writers. The Betty Gabehart Prizes in fiction, nonfiction, and poetry recognize and support writers of exceptional talent who show potential for excellence in their literary endeavors. Winners receive:

  • $300 honorarium, which may be used to defray travel & lodging expenses for:
  • the opportunity to appear on stage to give a reading during KWWC2019, Sept. 20-21 in Lexington
  • full tuition support to attend the conference and enroll in one small-group writing workshop

Here are submission guidelines. You can submit online or by mail:

Online submission form

Mail-in form:
Download the entry form

Mail package with:

  • entry form
  • 2 copies of the work
  • $10 entry fee payable to KWWC

Please to:
Betty Gabehart Prize
Kentucky Women Writers Conference
University of Kentucky
232 East Maxwell Street
Lexington, KY 40506-0344

Direct inquiries to: